The Malta Police Force
On Line

Pulizija ta' Malta

Founded : 12 July 1814


Police General Headquarters,
Floriana, Malta,

Tel. Nos.:
(+356) 2122 4001, (+356) 2122 4002

Fax. No.: (+356) 2123 5467

Commissioner of Police

Mr. Lawrence Cutajar
26.04.2016 - 31.07.2016 (Acting)
01.08.2016 -

International Relations
Asst. Comm. Stephen Gatt
Protective Services
Asst. Comm. Dr. Antoine Casha
HR & Policy Implementation
Asst. Comm. Mario Spiteri
Vice & Economic Crimes
Asst. Comm. - vacant
Asst. Comm. Carmelo Magri
Criminal Investigations
Asst. Comm. Silvio Valletta
Region "A"
Asst. Comm. Neville Aquilina
Region "B"
Asst. Comm. Martin Sammut

All correspondence must be
addressed to the
Commissioner of Police.

The Malta Police Force was founded on the 12th July 1814. This makes it one of the oldest Police Forces in Europe, if not in the world.

The General Headquarters are based in Floriana, less than a mile away from Valletta, the fortified Capital City of the Island.

The Police Commissioner is Mr. Lawrence Cutajar, a former Assistant Commissioner of Police; while his Deputies are: vacant. There are about 1,800 serving members and their ranks in the force are as follows:-

  • Constable
  • Sergeant
  • Sergeant Major
  • Inspector
  • Superintendent
  • Assistant Commissioner
  • Deputy Commissioner
  • Commissioner of Police


Traffic Safety Campaign
NEWS:: 34-year old Police Constable murdered in armed hold-up (2001)

NEWS:: 24-year old Police Constable murdered in cold blood (1999)

More information in


Road Safety First... Don't Drink And Drive !!

[ Organisation ] - [ News and Events ] - [ Information ]

Copyright ©1998 -

Send any questions or problems regarding
this service to the administrator.

last modified: August 2016