Government Ministries
Allocation of Portfolios

Office of the Prime Minister (OPM)
Prime Minister: Dr Joseph Muscat, K.U.O.M., B.Com., B.A.(Hons), M.A.(Eur. Stud.), Ph.D.(Bristol), M.P.

Minister without Portfolio in the Office of the Prime Minister:
Dr Konrad Mizzi, B.Sc., M.A.(Notts.), Ph.D.(Notts.), M.P. ***

Parliamentary Secretary for Planning and Simplification of Administrative Processes:
Dr Deborah Schembri, BA, MA, LLD, Adv. Trib. Eccl. Melit., M.P. **

Ministry for European Affairs and Implementation of the Electoral Manifesto
Deputy Prime Minister: Mr Louis Grech, B.A., M.A.(Oxon.), M.P.

Parliamentary Secretary for the EU Presidency 2017 and EU Funds:
Dr Ian Borg, LL.B., Dip. Not. Pub., LL.D., M.P.

Ministry for Foreign Affairs
Minister: Dr George Vella, M.D., Cert. G.A.M. (UK), M.P.

Ministry for Education and Employment
Minister: Mr Evarist Bartolo, B.A., M.Ed.(Wales), M.P.

Parliamentary Secretary for Research, Innovation, Youth & Sport:
Mr. Chris Agius, M.P.

Ministry for Transport and Infrastructure
Minister: Mr Joe Mizzi, M.P.

Ministry for Gozo
Minister: Dr Anton Refalo, LL.D., M.P.

Ministry for Social Dialogue, Consumer Affairs and Civil Liberties
Minister: Dr Helena Dalli, B.A.(Hons.), M.Phil., Ph.D., M.P.

Ministry for the Economy, Investment and Small Business
Minister: Dr Christian Cardona, B.A., LL.D., LL.M., M.P.

Ministry for Finance
Minister: Prof Edward Scicluna, B.A.(Econ.), D.S.S.(Oxon), M.A.Econ (Toronto), Ph.D. Econ. (Toronto), M.P.

Ministry for the Family and Social Solidarity
Minister: Dr Michael Farrugia, M.D., M.P.

Parliamentary Secretary for Culture and Local Government:
Dr Justyne Caruana, LL.D., M.P.

Ministry for Justice, Culture and Local Government
Minister: Dr Owen Bonnici, B.A., LL.D., M.P.

Parliamentary Secretary for Local Government:
Dr Stefan Buontempo, B.A.(Arch), FCIOB, FASI, MRICS, Ph.D., M.P.

Ministry for Tourism
Minister: Dr. Edward Zammit Lewis, B.A., LL.D., M.P.

Ministry for Home Affairs and National Security
Minister: Mr. Carmelo Abela, M.P.

Ministry for Sustainable Development, the Environment and Climate Change
Minister: Dr Jose' A. Herrera, B.A., LL.D., M.P.***

Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture, Fisheries and Animal Rights:
Mr Roderick Galdes, B.Plan., M.A.(ISSS), MACP, M.P.

Ministry for Competitiveness and Digital, Maritime and Services Economy
Minister: Dr Emanuel Mallia, L.P., LL.D., M.P.***

Ministry for Health
Minister: Dr Chris Fearne, M.D., M.P.***

* Changes in Portfolio responsibilities were made with effect from 27th March 2013 and 22nd January 2016 as per PR 160128.

OPM Circular No. 7 of 2013 issued on 2nd April 2013.

** Changes in Cabinet responsibility as from 21 January 2016 and swearing in was held on 22 January 2016.

Cabinet reshuffle announced on Saturday 29th March 2014 and swearing in was held on 2nd April 2014.

*** Cabinet reshuffle announced on Thursday 28th April 2016 with Minister losing all his portfolios while remaining a minister, and the swearing in of 3 new ministers was held on Friday 29th April 2016

Changes in portfolios of Ministries was announced in the Government Gazette of 30th July 2016

Copyright ©2003 - HF

Send any questions or problems regarding
this service to the administrator.

the administrator.

last modified: July 2016